WEEK 54/52: Song For A Girl I Never Met

This song was actually written right at the start of the project, but I was too chicken to properly record it with Crook.

At that time, I was in a really lonely place, working too hard at comedy and fighting to squash the quiet moments so I wouldn’t realize how adrift I was.

I had borrowed The Devil and Daniel Johnston from a friend, and was really moved by the documentary.  As the final scene played out, tears were streaming down my face, and for the first time in weeks I felt something other than empty.  This song came out fully formed in one sitting, my first in months.

In some ways, putting those emotions into a song made them real, tangible.  It helped.  And I needn’t have worried –  just a few months later, I met the girl of my dreams.  Turns out I wasn’t a fool to believe.

Written by Joel Buxton

Produced by Steve Cruickshank

LYRICS:

Everyone I see
Is disappointing to me
They seem broken and mean

And everyone I meet
They seem ugly to me
They want to tear a strip off me, but I can see

Ooh I’ve been thinking about you
I’ve been living without you, please hurry soon
Ooh Am I a fool to believe you,
Will I be here to receive you, please hurry soon

Every time I pray,
I’ve got nothing to say
I must believe that I’m okay

And every time I sleep,
I’ve been dreaming about you,
I’m beginning to doubt you may dream of me

And every time I fall,
It’s like expecting a call, but
There’s no one at all, cause

Ooh I’ve been thinking about you
I’ve been living without you, please hurry soon
Ooh Am I a fool to believe you,
Will I be here to receive you, please hurry soon

Everything I say,
I keep drifting away
Don’t see a reason to stay
But I’m here anyway

About brunswickproject

Every week, Steve Cruickshank and Joel Buxton meet in Joel's shitty kitchen, unplug the fridge, slug whiskey, and create a song. For 52 weeks. Or 'til somebody dies. Check out a new track on Soundcloud every Tuesday. http://www.soundcloud.com/brunswicktunes
This entry was posted in Songs and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

