WEEK 51/52: Chicago

This week’s song is about a trip I took to Chicago. I thought I might be out of a job so I took a cheap 13 hour Greyhound trip to get there and back, listening to This American Life the whole way. They were playing the infamous Harper Highschool episodes at that time, which explored violence in the Chicago school system.

While I was there, I felt some complex emotions, including when I saw a mother smack her young child’s head into a wall. It happened casually, in the middle of a main drag where men spray-painted the colour of tin posed for tourists. Nobody did anything about it, including me.

I was shocked by the class divide in America, and left feeling like I should be grateful for the things I have in Canada, including a roof over my head in a nice neighbourhood.

A week after my return, my landlord served a notice of eviction, citing a loophole in the Landlord Tenant Act where a family member can depose the existing tenant. It’s a common tactic when an area (like mine) becomes gentrified. The apartment is renovated and the rent jacked up to accommodate the wealthy people who have been pushed out by wealthier people, and need a fashionable place to live. So it goes.

I’m not really sure what I learned from the trip, other than I’m not part of the social class my parents raised me for. I imagine it’s a bit disappointing for them, but I hope they understand that artists belong down here.

– Bucky

Music / Lyrics: Joel Buxton, Steve Cruickshank
Production: Steve Cruickshank

Lyrics:

Money equals time, so I took the Greyhound Line
I made sure that I had books for the failing light
I closed my eyes but I couldn’t sleep
Seems killing was the theme on Ira`s show this week
Oh boy the border chick is bustin’ balls
My French friends don’t know I understand their threats at all
On walls, smearing shit on walls

I was chicago bound
I was chicago bound
My soul was lost and found
I felt chicago bound
There’s something about this town
That’s creeping in my sound
I was Chicago bound
We are Chicago
Bound

You can find the things you like, just observe the skyline
They built buildings inside the wall to impress your kind
Had some time to kill so I checked out the bill
Took a stroll past the tin man just to test my will
She punched her kids head into a wall `cause she can`t eat
Oh God I couldn’t find the outrage I don`t know this street
I don`t know this street

I came home thinking I was cool but eviction time
I guess the bus is just a symbol that moves my kind
Oh god I smell a fire it’s burning white
Oh lord they’re kickin out the trash my dear
I can`t monetize

I was chicago bound
I was chicago bound
My soul was lost and found
I felt chicago bound
There’s something about this town
That’s creeping in my sound
I was Chicago bound
We are Chicago
Bound

chicago-nighttime

About brunswickproject

Every week, Steve Cruickshank and Joel Buxton meet in Joel's shitty kitchen, unplug the fridge, slug whiskey, and create a song. For 52 weeks. Or 'til somebody dies. Check out a new track on Soundcloud every Tuesday. http://www.soundcloud.com/brunswicktunes
This entry was posted in Songs and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

