WEEK 34/52: Harvey Street

Believe it or not, this song was a commission, albeit a modest one.  You see, my duvet cover, a hand-me-down from my folks, was in rough shape and a friend offered to sew it for me. 

As she dug into the project and realized it would take many hours of hand sewing to fix, she demanded compensation in the form of a song. 

So I wrote this tune to pay her back.  Harvey street was where she lived, and since our deal was the reason I was writing the song, I thought the line “Where is my muse, she’s at Harvey Street” was appropriate.  

Music/Lyrics: Joel Buxton
Production: Steve Cruickshank

LYRICS

Wanted: one with hear tone with art one with style
One who makes me smile
Wanted: one whoès kind one who doesnèt mind that my beddingès a hand me down
One who frowns when she
Thinks too much, ’cause I
Need to know that youève been thinking too much too

Where is my muse? Where is my muse? Where is my muse?
She’s at Harvey Street
Where is my muse? Where is my muse? Where is my muse?
She’s at Harvey Street

Wanted: one who writes about life with a pen and a pad one who makes me mad
Wanted: one who writes on herself keeps a skull on her shelf and
Is eccentric like myself
Like myself
Cause I need to know that you’re somewhere close

Where is my muse? Where is my muse? Where is my muse?
She’s at Harvey Street
Where is my muse? Where is my muse? Where is my muse?
She’s at Harvey Street
Where is my muse? Where is my muse? Where is my muse?
She’s at Harvey Street
Where is my muse? Where is my muse? Where is my muse?
She’s at Harvey Street

About brunswickproject

Every week, Steve Cruickshank and Joel Buxton meet in Joel's shitty kitchen, unplug the fridge, slug whiskey, and create a song. For 52 weeks. Or 'til somebody dies. Check out a new track on Soundcloud every Tuesday. http://www.soundcloud.com/brunswicktunes
This entry was posted in Songs and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

