WEEK 26/52: Calendar Girls (2013/02/05)

This week’s song marks the halfway point of the Brunswick Project.  Wow.  Thanks everyone for your support.  We are still going strong, and looking forward to seeing what comes out in the second half of the project!

We wanted to do something special for the 26th song, so we decided to create our very own catchy pop jam.  Cruickshank and I are not exactly huge fans of the pop industry, preferring Radiohead and Beck to Rihanna and Britney.

But considering the range of experimentation that’s already happened through the course of this project, it seemed like a fun idea to study pop music and try to reverse-engineer our own pop song. 

Knowing that a good pop song starts with a strong voice, we recruited Toronto singer/songwriter Sara Wilkinson, who lent her lovely vocals to the project.  Also, Toronto improviser and long-time music-collaborator Rob Norman lent his unique hip hop element to the bridge.

The result is hopefully something that will make you want to tap your foot, or better yet, stick in your head so you’re humming it in the shower.

If not… Well, we tried.  There’s always next week, right?

Music / Lyrics: Joel Buxton, Steve Cruickshank, Rob Norman
Production: Steve Cruickshank
Lead Vocals: Sara Wilkinson
Art: Shane Heron

LYRICS
Come swim in my grotto come see the things I’ve made
Come meet the people who made me see my spread in Chatelaine
They’re ready for my body, They’re ready to see me now
Can I get this vodka water watered down
We`re getting paid, we’re getting paid, we’re getting paid

The calendar girls – rule the world
The calendar girls – the calendar girls, the calendar girls, the calendar girls

Don`t worry bitch, I got this, don`t fret it`s on my bill
So good to see you my friend, did I tell you looks can kill
Did I show you this article Did you see my centerfold
I’m not drunk enough to forget that I`m getting old
We`re beautiful, We`re beautiful, We`re beautiful, We`re beautiful

The calendar girls – rule the world
The calendar girls – the calendar girls, the calendar girls, the calendar girls

My heels are on, here’s the thong.
Teach tap this, he’s at prom
themes are gone, under the sea
Should it mean, tongue in tea?
Dut and grease, that’s for me
Take those hoes and eat this quiche
A girl in a sweater, gonna grind better
Than a hipster trend-setter in a fur and leather
You know we in it when I pull those lit
I fuck that dick all up in it
Take that shit and twist it and spin it
spit suck spit suck fuck and finish
You guys been good, then I do the rest,
Test one two three four five mess
Whoops false start, begin again,
This time said I cannot sleep in

The calendar girls – rule the world
The calendar girls – the calendar girls, the calendar girls, the calendar girls

About brunswickproject

Every week, Steve Cruickshank and Joel Buxton meet in Joel's shitty kitchen, unplug the fridge, slug whiskey, and create a song. For 52 weeks. Or 'til somebody dies. Check out a new track on Soundcloud every Tuesday. http://www.soundcloud.com/brunswicktunes
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to WEEK 26/52: Calendar Girls (2013/02/05)

  1. Pingback: Brunswick Project - Week 26 | Radio Rebel Independent Music

Leave a Reply

