WEEK 21/52: Notice of Eviction

Music / Lyrics: Steve Cruickshank
Photography: Kayella Mackenzie

Notice of Eviction is a remix of a piece that came out of the sampling experiments that were the War Lore sessions (other Brunswick tracks that came out of these sessions include Archaeology and Know Harm). It’s in the key of Bb major and is mostly in 6/4 time. This is a bit of a love song to the various houses in Toronto I’ve inhabited, including the house on Brunswick Avenue where Joel and I both resided in 2009 – hence our name. The first stanza (“We practice every day”) is about the various bands and projects we’ve undertaken as musicians, and how our home inevitably doubles as our rehearsal studio. Everyone who’s practiced an instrument or played in a basement band is familiar with the experience of being told to Keep It Down. “I very rarely leave/I’ve taken root” reflects that fact that, especially in the winter, I would stay inside for days on end, working on music. And the final stanza is not so much factual as it is for fun – to my knowledge I’ve never had a Lutheran landlord, but I couldn’t resist the rhyme and references to Luther’s 95 theses and St Paul’s assertion that he is “the least among the saints.” What else was I gonna do with my cabin fever? -Steve
LYRICS

We’re in a perfect place
I don’t wanna leave
We practice every day
Disturbing the peace

We’re in a perfect place
I don’t wanna move
I very rarely leave
I’ve taken root

We’re leased among the saints
My Lutheran landlord
Nails ninety-five complaints
Onto my front door
My front door

About brunswickproject

Every week, Steve Cruickshank and Joel Buxton meet in Joel's shitty kitchen, unplug the fridge, slug whiskey, and create a song. For 52 weeks. Or 'til somebody dies. Check out a new track on Soundcloud every Tuesday. http://www.soundcloud.com/brunswicktunes
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

