WEEK 13/52: Interrogation

Buxton here. My fondest memory of this complex track was during a frustrating, marathon Apple Pi rehearsal at the Brunswick pad. Mike Palumbo was standing in front of a pad of chart paper and was, lecture-style, walking us through yet another time signature change while we tried to figure out our own song. The paper was covered with lines and arrows, lyrics and chord symbols, and to an outside observer it probably looked like we were trying to design a bomb.

In reality, we were trying to do what most couples do when they sense the end of a marriage is near: make a baby together. Most Apple Pi songs were the core vision of one of our members, improved by the group, but inherently “theirs.” Interrogation was different, growing out of several late night drunken jams and random bits of lyric.

Slowly, painfully, after many disagreements and passionate discussions, Interrogation was born. Featuring vocals from Crook, myself and Rob Norman, a drum beat crafted by Steve Hobbs and crazy guitar moves from Mike Palumbo, this track, more than anything symbolizes the crazy mish-mash of talent and creativity Apple Pi briefly housed.

In the end, Apple Pi would collapse. We would give up our headquarters and split to the wind. Steve and I would go on to create Brunswick Project, where these forgotten Apple Pi tracks would find a new audience. But to me, Interrogation WAS Apple Pi. And while the baby didn’t save the marriage, I think she turned out pretty nice.

Music / Lyrics: Steve Cruickshank, Joel Buxton, Steve Hobbs, Michael Palumbo, Rob Norman

Production: Steve Cruickshank

Art: Shane Heron

LYRICS

I got ways, of making you talk.
Been here since three o’clock
I got words for you

Cut a deal, and then you can walk.
Spill your guts and you’ll never have second thoughts

The gloves are comin’ off, the gloves are comin’ off, the gloves are comin’ off today.
The gloves are comin’ off, the gloves are comin’ off today

I’ve been there, I’ve been in your shoes.
Tryna stay off the news.
I got news for you

I got ways, of making you sing.
In and out you’ll be telling us, everything.

The gloves are comin’ off, the gloves are comin’ off, the gloves are comin’ off today.
The gloves are comin’ off, the gloves are comin’ off, the gloves are comin’ off today.

Collaborate that, runnin’ eight track, it’s an alibi from a helluva guy, Backwards in fact, backwards is that,
Please to pay it on the side, play it on the sly sly sly sly slyyy

I’m comin’ back for you, I’m comin’ back for you.
I’m comin’ back for you, I’d watch my back if I were you.

Thh deed is done and there’s no goin’ back, but you could
Write a note to say I’m sorry
Your lawyer’s called, but while he’s on his way, maybe you can
Tell me and the boys a story, yeah
A story

Play it on the sly, play it on the sly (story)
Play it on the sly (story), play it on the slide (story)

I’m comin back for you I’m comin back for you
I’m comin back for you… I’d watch my back,
If I were you…
You

 

About brunswickproject

Every week, Steve Cruickshank and Joel Buxton meet in Joel's shitty kitchen, unplug the fridge, slug whiskey, and create a song. For 52 weeks. Or 'til somebody dies. Check out a new track on Soundcloud every Tuesday. http://www.soundcloud.com/brunswicktunes
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

