WEEK 12/52: On The Sly

Steve here, this is a pretty simple song I wrote a few years back. It was built around these 2 drums samples that were arranged in this lurching, driving rhythm. Add a generous serving of distortion and you’re set. The lyrics (see below) were inspired in part by the 1998 masterpiece (?) The Negotiator, starring Kevin Spacey and Samuel L Jackson, but they’re a tribute to certain cop movie cliches in general. ie. The old Get The Villain To Confess His Plan While Secretly Recording Him. Works every time.

Music / Lyrics: Steve Cruickshank

Production: Steve Cruickshank

Art: Shane Heron

LYRICS

Put down the gun and step away from the door
Put down the gun and step away from the door, oh no

Hands on your head step away from the door,
Hands on your head step away from the door, oh no
Oh no

CHORUS 1
Nobody told me it was on the sly
Nobody told me it was on the sly
Nobody told me it was on the sly

VERSE 2
Give up the game I got the whole thing on tape,
Give up the game I got the whole thing on tape, oh no

Make no mistake you know there ain’t no escape,
Make no mistake I got the whole thing on tape, oh no
There ain’t no escape, oh no

CHORUS 2
Nobody told me it was on the sly
Nobody told me it was on the sly
I should’ve known you’d hang me out to dry
Nobody told me
I should’ve known you’d hang me out to dry
Nobody told me

About brunswickproject

Every week, Steve Cruickshank and Joel Buxton meet in Joel's shitty kitchen, unplug the fridge, slug whiskey, and create a song. For 52 weeks. Or 'til somebody dies. Check out a new track on Soundcloud every Tuesday. http://www.soundcloud.com/brunswicktunes
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

