WEEK 2/52: The Law

I’m a huge fan of the English serial Judge Dredd, which is printed in the magazine 2000AD.

There’s something about the grim, fascist, and often charming Mega City 1 that keeps me coming back to the thousands of progs that have been released over the years.

I wanted to write a song that was part homage, part an exploration of my own feelings about fairness and order. Anyways, it’s not a fanboy song in any sense, but if you’re a Dredd fan, you might catch some refs in the lyrics. Enjoy. – Joel

Music / Lyrics: Joel Buxton

Production: Steve Cruickshank

LYRICS:

I don’t think you heard what I said / Turn around and hands on your head.
I don’t think you know what I know / I can have you followed wherever you go

I don’t think you see what I see / I don’t think you see what I mean
I don’t think you’ve seen what I’ve seen / Birdie says your lyin’ in front of me

Which is to say / You’re guilty in some way

Oh you’re guilty in some way, guilty as charged
It’s lookin’ that way, uh huh, guilty as charged
You’re goin’ away, uh huh guilty as charged
It’s lookin’ that way, uh huh

I don’t like the look of this place / I don’t like the look on your face
I can take a stick to a juve / I can put your kid in a cube if he’s rude
You can cry you want us to stop / wait until the war hits your block
We can keep the people in place / I don’t think you’re gruff ’nuff to stand in my place

Hey yo Anderson said: You crossed us in your head

Oh you’re guilty in some way, guilty as charged
It’s lookin’ that way, uh huh, guilty as charged
You’re goin’ away, uh huh guilty as charged
It’s lookin’ that way, uh huh

We didn’t know how to run until you caught us,
We didn’t know how to bleed until you shot at us,
We didn’t know how to fight until you taught us to live

We didn’t know how to mobilize
We only know how to criticize
I confess my fellow man’s a fool
You might be cruel, but baby this is cool.

Guilty as charged (guilty as charged)

About brunswickproject

Every week, Steve Cruickshank and Joel Buxton meet in Joel's shitty kitchen, unplug the fridge, slug whiskey, and create a song. For 52 weeks. Or 'til somebody dies. Check out a new track on Soundcloud every Tuesday. http://www.soundcloud.com/brunswicktunes
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

